Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Milne universe

1. Jul 11, 2012 #1
    I'm studying the Milne Universe in two dimensions. The metric is similar to that of Rindler spacetime, but with time and space inverted.
    [itex]ds^{2}=-dt^{2}+t^{2}dx^{2}[/itex]
    The Carter Penrose diagram of this spacetime would be the same of Rindler spacetime?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 11, 2012 #2

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

The "Milne universe"? Is that where Winnie ther Pooh lives?

Last edited: Jul 17, 2012
  4. Jul 11, 2012 #3
    The Wiki

5. Jul 13, 2012 #4
    Apart from Winnie the Pooh, anyone has an idea on what to do?

6. Jul 13, 2012 #5
    I don't. What have you done? What's a Carter-Penrose diagram? What's a Rindler spacetime?

7. Jul 13, 2012 #6

PAllen

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The Milne universe I've familiar with is just a funny coordinate system on flat, topologically trivial spacetime. Carter-Penrose diagrams, such as I understand them, deal only with coordinate independent geometry and topology of the manifold. Given these definitions (which may not be yours - please clarify) - the Carter-Penrose diagram would just be that for Minkowski spacetime.

8. Jul 13, 2012 #7
    If you don't know what are they, you can't help me, I'm sorry!

I think my definitions are the same of you, I don't think there are others...! (I studied Wald and Townsend)
    I conclude that the CP diagram of Milne is the same of part of Minkowski in two dimensions.

9. Jul 13, 2012 #8

George Jones

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Sorry, I don't know much about this, so my post doesn't help much. I am familiar with the Milne universe, but I have never really worked with Penrose diagrams. There is a small bit on this in the book Physical Foundations of Cosmology by Mukhanov.