Moving 4 items attached on shafts

• Thread starter Blad9
  • Start date
In summary: There is no one-size-fits-all answer to this question. You would need to consult with a manufacturer or someone with experience in creating motor driven gear systems for this type of application.In summary, you will need to use bearing to support the shafts, and make four rotations to complete the movement. The amount of load and environment will determine how you do the movement. You will need to consult with a manufacturer or someone with experience in creating motor driven gear systems to complete the movement.
Blad9
I’m not sure if this is the right place to post, I hope it is. I’m a mechanical student and don’t have a lot of experience on how to move objects (yet). For a project I have to move 4 items which are attached on shafts. I would like to be able to move those items 180 degrees inside and back outside. Picture:

2dkabme.jpg

The items weight about 50kg each.

How should I do this with bearings?
How should I make those rotations? With 4 stepper motors or pinions or…?

Thanks in advance.

Engineering news on Phys.org
You will surely need to provide bearing for the four shafts. The bearings have to both support the shafts and also allow them to turn.

As to how to cause the four rotations, that is a bit more indefinite. There are many ways, and you have not specified enough information. Will there be resistance to being turned? Must they all turn together? Is this to be a precision turn, or is the angle only approximate? How fast must the turn be made? Must the arms stop at the end of the turn, or do they continue to travel?