Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Need 0-3v output from 0-12v input

1. Mar 12, 2010 #1
    Hi, this isnt a homework question, but this is one of the best technical forums Ive seen for stuff like this so I thought I would give it a shot.

Im an aerospace engineering student (3rd year) and like all engineers I like to tinker with stuff, but electrical wiring like this is not my specialty.

I have a gauge in my car that runs off a 3v source. I want to be able to dim it with the interior control knob that controls all the other lights (and 2 gauges right beside this one). I emailed the manufacturer about it and they said just throw in a resistor until its where you want it. I dont really like that idea since I want to be able to adjust it with the other gauges.
    Let me back up and say the gauge lighting is run on a constant 3v from the sending unit. The typical car system is 12v, obviously. What I want is basically a linear control over the gauge, ie, I have the knob at 6v I want the gauge at 1.5v; 12v to 3v; 0v to 0v.

I asked one of my professors and he mentioned a voltage regulator, but I have never used those before...

Thanks in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 12, 2010 #2
    A simple two resistor voltage divider might work if the gauge doesn't draw too much current.

http://web.mit.edu/rec/www/workshop/voltage-divider.gif

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 24, 2017
  4. Mar 13, 2010 #3
    Yea, I considered a voltage divider, but will it always give the same ratio no matter the input voltage since it has a range of 0-12?

For testing it, would R1=3ohm and R2=1ohm work fine for a 1/4 scale?

Im not sure of how much current the display draws, but its a couple LEDs so I imagine its not much. Any way to easily find out?

5. Mar 14, 2010 #4
    Anyone else?

6. Mar 14, 2010 #5