Need help combining various equations for a single problem

• Thread starter ZPoston
  • Start date
In summary, a helicopter is ascending vertically at a speed of 5.20 m/s and a package is dropped from a height of 125 m above the Earth. The equation g = 9.80 m/s2 can be used to determine the time it takes for the package to reach the ground.
ZPoston

Homework Statement

A helicopter is ascending vertically with the speed of 5.20 m/s. At a height of 125 m above the Earth , a package is dropped from a window. How much time does it take for the package to reach the ground.
I am brand new to physics , but to me it seems like there is not enough info here . I know that there probably is I just don't know where to start.

Homework Equations

g= 9.80 m/s2

The Attempt at a Solution

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF!

Hi ZPoston! Welcome to PF! :wink:
ZPoston said:
… it seems like there is not enough info here . I know that there probably is I just don't know where to start.

You have the initial speed, the acceleration, and the distance …

so use one of the standard constant acceleration equations :smile:

1. How do I know which equations to combine for a specific problem?

The first step is to identify the variables and quantities involved in the problem. Then, look for equations that contain those variables and see if they can be manipulated to solve for the desired quantity. It may also be helpful to draw a diagram or create a table to organize the information.

2. Can I combine equations from different areas or disciplines of science?

Yes, as long as the equations are based on the same fundamental principles and units. For example, you can combine equations from physics and chemistry as both use the same fundamental units of measurement such as mass, length, and time.

3. What is the best way to combine equations?