Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Newbee question

1. Nov 17, 2004 #1
    I'm just a freshman in college (not an EE major) and I got a small question.

I read about peltiers and how they work, but I just wanted to ask if you think it's possible to buy a peltier, attach it to somewhere hot in my computer and light a 100 W light bulb from it. Do computers get hot enough to make a peltier light a 100 W light bulb? Anyone know how hot I will need to make the peltier to get this amount of power?

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 17, 2004 #2

NoTime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Certainly not a 100 W light bulb, but you might get enough to light a led.
    Also it is not how hot but the temperature difference across the device.
    You could melt one without getting any power at all.

4. Nov 18, 2004 #3
    Thanks, you saved me some money there! :biggrin:

5. Nov 20, 2004 #4

Mk

The Seebeck effect, says that heat can be directly converted to electricity, if the peltier got hot enough, you'd get some electricity out of that.

6. Dec 4, 2004 #5
    It may or may not be the same thing, but there's a cordless, no battery electric fan designed to sit directly on a wood stove. It has an aluminum heat sink at the top to create a temperature difference across the active device. As the stove gets hotter the fan speeds up to blow the heat around. It's not very powerfull, more of a novelty.

7. Dec 4, 2004 #6
    There may be more than one, but the fan like that I'm thinking of is powered by a sterling engine.

8. Dec 5, 2004 #7

brewnog

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Hmm, wire2 said it was an 'electric' fan in which case it could be a peltier driven thing rather than a sterling engine, but those sterling ones which run off the heat of your hand are pretty cool...

9. Dec 5, 2004 #8

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor