1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Nuclear Engineering vs. Physics?

1. Aug 15, 2009 #1
    Nuclear Engineering vs. Physics??

So I am a sophomore at a community college and will have to apply to baccalaureate programs soon for entrance in August 2010. I have always been interested in physics but have recently become more involved in engineering through the engineering society at school and talking with professional engineers; now I'm not really wanting to go into academia as a physics professor and I definitely want to do something in industry.

The only engineering physics undergraduate program available in the state has an aeronautics focus which I don't really want to go into; my other option is double-majoring in applied mathematics and physics at another school and studying engineering physics in graduate school.

I have also recently become interested in nuclear engineering, which is, I am told, a very lucrative profession. The only nuclear engineering program in the state has been ranked as top 10 in the nation. The advisors in that program told me that double-majoring in nuclear engineering and physics would take another five years in addition to the two years I've already spent at a community college, and I don't really want to have to spend seven years getting my baccalaureate education.