Optimizing Skateboard for Fastest Travel

• Thread starter AkInfinity
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Skateboard
In summary, the person is seeking to optimize their skateboard for travel around the university. They are trying to reduce the friction force and believe that changing the width, hardness, and radius of the tires can help. They are unsure about the impact of radius on friction force. The conversation also mentions using tic tacs as a way to propel the skateboard without touching the ground, which can be useful for avoiding small rocks.
AkInfinity
I am trying to get new wheels for my skateboard and I am trying to make it so that I can travel around the university at the fastest rate and one of my goals it to make it so that from an initial push F it can travel the furthest. So I am trying to reduce the Friction force.
I am no expert in rolling friction but think that for our purpose the factors that are involved that I can change are the width of the tire, the hardness of it, and it's radius.

Something I'm pretty sure of is that the tires should be as wide as possible so that I don't fall on just a small rock getting in the way, and that the wheel should be hardest so that there is less hysteresis.

As far as the radius length I am unsure since having a bigger wheel would give it larger moment of inertia to resist the friction force, although the friction force would have a greater torque on the wheel.

I am wondering if you guys could tell me in physics terms how to optimize my skateboard for travel.

Physics news on Phys.org
AkInfinity said:
Tires should be as wide as possible so that I don't fall on just a small rock getting in the way.
That's mostly an issue of tire diameter. The larger the diameter of the tire, the less the slowing resistance of hitting a small rock (assuming same size rock). The small diameter wheels are popular for certain types of board scraping or flipping tricks, but not as efficient as the larger diameter wheels.