1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics major unable to get engineering internship

1. Feb 6, 2009 #1
    i'm in my 4th year in college, double majroing in physics and applied math and i've only taken 1 engineering class (i'm taking it currently). since i'm staying for a 5th year, i'm looking for an aerospace/mechanical engineering internship this summer. i've applied to over 100 different positions for companies and havent gotten ANY replies for an interview

there could be multiple reasons:
    1. i'm not an engineering major and have taken no engineering classes.
    2, the economy is really that bad right now
    3. i havent submitted my cover letter for most of my applications
    4. i havent followed up on most of my applications

all the companies say to online, but they never say to whom or where to address my cover letter to

i'm thinking about just giving up on applying for internships. my engineering professor said the problem is that no companies want me since i havent taken any engineering classes, except the one i'm currently taking. but i've heard of some physics majors getting hired without taking any engineering classes

also, will i even like mechE/aerospace if i didnt like fluid mechanics in my freshman calc-based physics class?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 6, 2009 #2
    I'm a little surprised that you wouldn't get any replies at all. I am a first year masters student in aerospace engineering with a B.S. in physics, and I've been invited to two interviews with local aerospace firms in the last few months. I was also contacted by a major defense contractor the other day about a possible summer internship in 2010. It's a long shot, but I'm encouraged that they're at least interested in my resume.