Prep for Algebra Comprehensive Exam #1

In summary, the conversation discusses a student's preparation for an Algebra comprehensive exam and their plan to post their solutions for feedback. The conversation also includes a discussion on proving that the inverse image of an ideal under a ring homomorphism is an ideal containing the kernel of the homomorphism. There is also a hint given for a proof involving ring homomorphisms and ideals.
BSMSMSTMSPHD
I am currently studying for my Algebra comprehensive exam which will be given at the end of August. As part of my materials, I have several old exams, minus the answers. I would like to post my solutions here to see if they are accurate.

I am posting here rather than in the homework section, because this is not homework, and I don't want to take attention away from those people asking real homework questions. That being said, if you do see a mistake in my work, please do not give me the solution. All constructive comments are welcome. Thanks!

1. Let [tex]f:R \rightarrow S[/tex] be a ring homomorphism, let [tex]I[/tex] be an ideal in [tex]R[/tex], and [tex]J[/tex] be an ideal in [tex]S[/tex].

a. Show that the inverse image [tex]f^{-1}(J)[/tex] is an ideal of [tex]R[/tex] that contains the kernal of [tex]f[/tex].

b. Prove that if [tex]f[/tex] is surjective, then [tex]f(I)[/tex] is an ideal in S. Give an example showing that if [tex]f[/tex] is not surjective then [tex]f(I)[/tex] need not be an ideal in [tex]S[/tex].

SOLUTION

a. I will show that [tex]f^{-1}(J)[/tex] is nonempty, closed under subtraction and multiplication (making it a subring of [tex]R[/tex]), and absorbs products from [tex]R[/tex].

Since [tex]0 \in J[/tex] and [tex]f(0) = 0[/tex], (since [tex]f[/tex] is a ring homomorphism), [tex]f^{-1}(J)[/tex] is nonempty.