Programatically measure air pressure within a piston

In summary: Typically, pressure sensors are designed to work within a range of 1-10 PSI. They are also accurate to within 1% of the measured pressure.You are looking for a digital pressure sensor that can handle the types of pressure deltas expected?That seems like a pretty general question, without more information it's difficult to say.
Richard Norbron
I am a software engineer. I am working on an experimental project to attempt
to measure in real time the variation in air pressure (relative to the ambient
pressure of the room) in a piston style apparatus. In this model, I am expectant that there will be a measureable change in the internal pressure as the surrounding air is compressed. I am no clearly physician, so looking
to purchase a sensor with a supported SDK. That way I can calibrate the readings
within software and produce a real time graph of the variations resulting
from compressing the space within the cyclinder. I am seeking recommendations
as to the type of sensor readings I would need to measure and an idea of the type
of physical sensor I should be looking to purchase. I am hoping the sensor will
be reasonable in price as this is just an experiment, which might have an actual
real world application. Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions.

Physics news on Phys.org
To select a pressure sensor we need information about pressures , temperatures , response rates and means of attachment .

It may be possible to determine what happens in the cylinder theoretically - have you considered this ?