Recloser Control: PC Programming for 9 Pin RS232 Port

• Thread starter dark021
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Control
In summary: Not usually. In the PC COM port context, COM1 and COM2 are usually two separate DB-9 connectors on the back of the PC. COM3-COMn are logical overloads of...
dark021
I'm new to Hardware programming, Can you give me an idea on how to create a controller on recloser via PC?? The recloser has a rs232 Port, and its a 9 pin.. Thanks... i need it badly thank you

Engineering news on Phys.org
dark021 said:
I'm new to Hardware programming, Can you give me an idea on how to create a controller on recloser via PC?? The recloser has a rs232 Port, and its a 9 pin.. Thanks... i need it badly thank you

What languages are you comfortable programming the PC in? Most languages will have an interface to the RS-232 COM ports -- I've used Tcl/Tk before to interface to an RS-232 device from a PC.

You can even interface to a serial port with BASIC. Use the OPEN "COMn: [baud] [,parity][,data][,stop][options] AS [#] filenum [LEN=num]

berkeman said:
What languages are you comfortable programming the PC in? Most languages will have an interface to the RS-232 COM ports -- I've used Tcl/Tk before to interface to an RS-232 device from a PC.

Can I used Vb.net on that?? what devices did u use?? can u give me a step by step instruction on controlling the pins of the Rs232?.. The real deal is i have to sen atleast 5V on rs232 going to the recloser.. thank you again..

dark021 said:
Can I used Vb.net on that?? what devices did u use?? can u give me a step by step instruction on controlling the pins of the Rs232?.. The real deal is i have to sen atleast 5V on rs232 going to the recloser.. thank you again..

Your PC will output +/-12V on the RS-232 signals. The minimum to meet the standard is +/-5V, I believe.