Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Recloser Control

1. Jun 17, 2009 #1
    I'm new to Hardware programming, Can you give me an idea on how to create a controller on recloser via PC?? The recloser has a rs232 Port, and its a 9 pin.. Thanks... i need it badly thank you

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 18, 2009 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

What languages are you comfortable programming the PC in? Most languages will have an interface to the RS-232 COM ports -- I've used Tcl/Tk before to interface to an RS-232 device from a PC.

4. Jun 18, 2009 #3

dlgoff

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

You can even interface to a serial port with BASIC. Use the OPEN "COMn: [baud] [,parity][,data][,stop][options] AS [#] filenum [LEN=num]

5. Jun 22, 2009 #4

Can I used Vb.net on that?? what devices did u use?? can u give me a step by step instruction on controlling the pins of the Rs232?.. The real deal is i have to sen atleast 5V on rs232 going to the recloser.. thank you again..

6. Jun 22, 2009 #5

berkeman

Your PC will output +/-12V on the RS-232 signals. The minimum to meet the standard is +/-5V, I believe.

Yes, you should be able to write to the COM port using VB.net. Just look in the Help files or other instructional materials you have to see the format used for opening, writing, reading and closing the COM port.

7. Jun 22, 2009 #6
    i admit i m an idiot on this one,, can u give some reference books regarding on this? how will i check if 5volts is flowing on my Cable? Can I also control the PINs of the Rs232 port? thanks again...

8. Jun 22, 2009 #7

berkeman

9. Jun 23, 2009 #8
    i have this following codes.. i dont understand them... can u xplain them..

Const Xon = &H11
    Const Xoff = &H13

Private Sub Command1_Click()
    MSComm1.Output = "123456789" & Chr$(Xoff)
    End Sub

Private Sub Command2_Click()
    MSComm1.Output = "987654321" & Chr$(Xon)
    End Sub