Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Relativistic mass and energy

1. May 9, 2005 #1
    well, i'm very new to this, but i'm interested in learning. recently i followed a link from these forums that lead me here http://math.ucr.edu/home/baez/physics/ParticleAndNuclear/photon_mass.html which states:

well, i'm a little confused now, because if energy and relativistic mass are the same thing then why do we have the equation E = mc^2? in the equation, E is the energy and m is the relativistic mass, right? that equation seems to say to me that there is a propper use for the term "relativistic mass" because while it may be related to energy by a constant, it's not the same thing. could anyone shed some light on this for me?

thanks

2. jcsd
  3. May 9, 2005 #2

dextercioby

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

c=1 can be a cause.

Daniel.

4. May 9, 2005 #3

JesseM

Science Advisor

If m is the relativistic mass, then E = mc^2 will be valid for any object regardless of the velocity. But if m is just the rest mass, then E=mc^2 only works for an object at rest, and for an object with nonzero velocity you'd use this equation:

[tex]E^2 = m^2 c^4 + p^2 c^2[/tex]

Where p is the relativistic momentum [tex]p = m v / \sqrt{1 - v^2/c^2}[/tex]

5. May 10, 2005 #4
    You are correct. It is quite wrong to say that they are the same thing. If one quantity is proportional to another quantity that doesn't mean that they're the same thing. E.g. E = hf where E is the energy of a photon, h is Planck's constant and f is the frequency of the photon. E is therefore proportional to f. However this obviously doesn't mean that E an f are the same thing. E and m have a different definition and in some, but not all, cases they are proportional.

For an example where E does not equal to mc^2 please see

http://www.geocities.com/physics_world/sr/inertial_energy_vs_mass.htm

Pete