Calculating Time from Acceleration and Length - Karl's Schoolbook Question

• Thread starter kalle437
  • Start date
In summary, The conversation is about a Swedish student asking for help with a question in their book. The question is whether it is possible to calculate time using only acceleration and length. The student is trying to find the velocity of a car before it starts to break, but is having trouble because they only know the acceleration and length. The conversation then discusses different kinematic equations and how to use them to find the time and velocity. In the end, the student is able to solve the problem with the help of the expert.
kalle437
Hello there!
I am a swedish student (16 years old) and I would need help with a part of a question in my book. I have a test tomorrow, and it would be nice if I could get some help with this. The thing I need to know is, is it possible to calculate time by only knowing acceleration and lenght?

The question was about a car breaking. I know the acceleration is -7,856 m/s^2, and the length is 22m.

I've been trying a lot but havn't found a way to calculate time with this information. The question wanted to know the velocity before the car started to break, but i figured I need time before I can calculate the velocity.

Ask if it was something you didn't understand, and thanks in advance for all the help! :)

Karl

Physics news on Phys.org
You could find the time first, but you don't have to. It depends on what kinematic equations you have at your disposal. (You can find a list here: Basic Equations of 1-D Kinematics )

What's the most basic relationship between speed, acceleration, and time?

Hint: Try to solve it symbolically before plugging in any values.

Doc Al said:
You could find the time first, but you don't have to. It depends on what kinematic equations you have at your disposal. (You can find a list here: Basic Equations of 1-D Kinematics )