1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Schoolbook question.

1. Oct 18, 2007 #1
    Hello there!
    I am a swedish student (16 years old) and I would need help with a part of a question in my book. I have a test tomorrow, and it would be nice if I could get some help with this. The thing I need to know is, is it possible to calculate time by only knowing acceleration and lenght?

The question was about a car breaking. I know the acceleration is -7,856 m/s^2, and the length is 22m.

I've been trying a lot but havn't found a way to calculate time with this information. The question wanted to know the velocity before the car started to break, but i figured I need time before I can calculate the velocity.

Ask if it was something you didn't understand, and thanks in advance for all the help! :)

Karl

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 18, 2007 #2

Doc Al

Staff: Mentor

You could find the time first, but you don't have to. It depends on what kinematic equations you have at your disposal. (You can find a list here: Basic Equations of 1-D Kinematics )

What's the most basic relationship between speed, acceleration, and time?

Hint: Try to solve it symbolically before plugging in any values.

4. Oct 18, 2007 #3
    Forgot to mention my english ain't the best, so have understanding if I would misunderstand anything :)

The most basic relationship must be;

a = deltav / deltat

but, i don't know the starting velocity, only the ending velocity, which means I can't calculate time through this formula with this info, or can I?

5. Oct 18, 2007 #4

Doc Al