Can We See Atoms and Molecules Without High Powered Microscopes?

In summary, the FEI company microscopes are able to see atoms and molecules, but they are not as good as optical microscopes.
viciam
Hi guys,

I hope you don't mind me posting here, I am doing some research into atoms, molecules and microscopes. I have no knowledge of physics, the quantum world or microscopy so if my questions seem silly, please look past that and help me. Thank you

I have two questions. Is there a way to see atoms, molecules and other nanoscale objects other than through high powered microscopes?

And another question is, what are your thoughts on the FEI company microscopes? Have you used them? Would you recommend them?

Thanks in advance

Physics news on Phys.org
viciam said:
I have two questions. Is there a way to see atoms, molecules and other nanoscale objects other than through high powered microscopes?

Define "see". Are you asking for the ability to view these things with our naked eyes, without the use of any other instruments? Or are you asking if there are OTHER instruments that can be used besides "high powered microscopes"?

Zz.

You cannot see them with a light microscope. Images of molecules have been taken using atomic force microscopy.

Check these out: http://phys.org/news/2012-09-world-atomic-microscope-chemical-bonds.html

This is cutting edge stuff, not something you are likely to reproduce in a garage. Atoms are hard to see.

Last edited:
You can, however, see things that are only one atomic layer thick in an optical microscope.
This becomes fairly obvious if you look at graphene, there is actually optical contrast between single and bilayer graphere, even though the difference in thickness is much less than the wavelength of the light (and you can also see the contrast between the single layer graphene and the substrate).
It is a nice -and very useful- optical effect.