Show that the series ##\sum_{n=2}^\infty\dfrac {1}{n^2\ln (n)}##converges

• Thread starter chwala
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Series
In summary: The series;##\dfrac{1}{1^2}+\dfrac{1}{2^2}+\dfrac{1}{3^2}+...+\dfrac{1}{n^2}##converges because,$$\lim_{n→∞} \ln\left [\dfrac{n}{n}\right]<\lim_{n→∞} \ln\left [\dfrac{1}{n}\right]$$
chwala
Gold Member
Homework Statement
see attached.
Relevant Equations
knowledge of series and convergence/divergence
This is the question,

1642145998181.png

its long since i studied convergence...I need to attempt all the questions (attached)i will therefore make an attempt to answer one part at a time i.e ##a## first.

wawawawawa! does not look nice...let me look at my old notes on this chapter then i will respond later...give me time.

*I need to find the formula for this series...

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi ,

Don't be intimidated! If something can be shown to be smaller than the terms in a series that you know converges, you are done. You don't need 'the formula' for such a series.

##\ ##

• Haha
Likes chwala
Do you know something about ##\sum_{n=1}^\infty \dfrac{1}{n^2}##?

Likes chwala
fresh_42 said:
Do you know something about ##\sum_{n=1}^\infty \dfrac{1}{n^2}##?
It should be convergent by using Comparison Test...sorry i am held up a bit...i will look at this in a few hours...cheers Fresh.

BvU said:
Hi ,

Don't be intimidated! If something can be shown to be smaller than the terms in a series that you know converges, you are done. You don't need 'the formula' for such a series.

##\ ##
Nice...i was thinking along the lines of finding the formula of the series then establish its limit as n tends to infinity...

I will look at the approach suggested by Fresh...

Google is your friend ! I never heard of the Basel problem, but thanks to you I now bumped into it. Thanks !
(and idem Parseval's theorem...)

##\ ##

Likes chwala
chwala said:
It should be convergent by using Comparison Test