Single slit diffraction experiment

In summary: The electron's waveform is initially spread out, but when it reaches the slit, it can only pass through if its waveform is smaller than the slit's width. This results in the waveform collapsing to either pass through the slit or not. This reduction in the position waveform's bandwidth causes the conjugate momentum waveform to have a large spread, resulting in the diffraction pattern. However, attributing physical reality to the collapse of the wave function is just one interpretation of quantum mechanics. It is also frustrating that the passing through of the slit is not often acknowledged as a measurement process, with the focus usually being on the electron hitting the screen. However
svnaras
I'm a novice at this quantum business and was just trying to understand the single slit diffraction experiment and when an electron's position is getting measured in particular.

Given my understanding it looks like the electron's position gets measured twice. Once when it is just about to pass through the slit and the second time when it hits the screen.

As I see it from the source to the single slit the electron's waveform has a hugespread (including all possible coordinates). However, when it gets to the slit it can pass through only if its waveform is much smaller (of the width of the slit). So at that particular moment doesn't the electron's huge waveform collapse to either one that is within the slit's width or somewhere else (in which case it doesn't pass through the slit).

And because of the reduction in the bandwidth of the position waveform its conjugate momentum waveform acquires a huge spread and this makes it go in any direction after it passes through the slit giving rise to the diffraction pattern. Is this right? Please correct me if I'm wrong because this seems to be quite crucial to understanding what measurement is.