Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Strain Gauge Bonding

1. Aug 3, 2012 #1
    I have a few strain gauges that are going onto the suspension of a race bike. Ive never installed these things before. While I have found a lot of information on installing them, I am having a hard time finding many adhesive and chemical options. It seems a lot of them are non-permanent, or require a complex curing procedure. I would like a permenant method so I dont have to reinstall them a few times. One set of gauges will be close to an exhaust system as well. Anyone have any use personally with some of the available options?

FYI, I am a poor engineering student, so I tend to do things the hard way if it saves me a few bucks. Maybe the non-perms are better and I just reinstall them often?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 4, 2012 #2

Danger

Gold Member

Welcome to PF Strgt. (From the Stargate movie/series?)
    I don't know where you are, so this might not be of help. In North America we have a product called "J-B Weld". It's a binary epoxy similar to auto body filler, but is so strong that it actually works more like welding. (I know of one guy who mended a broken trailer hitch with it, and one of their ads showed it repairing the ram of a 12-ton bottle jack.) You can get it in hardware or auto parts stores.

edit: I've used it to fabricate machine parts rather than carve or mould metal.

Last edited: Aug 4, 2012
  4. Aug 5, 2012 #3
    Half my race bike is made out of jbweld :) Didn't know that was a suitable epoxy for strain gauges as its a bit thicker than the superglue-like stuff used in most of the applications guides.

5. Aug 5, 2012 #4

Danger

Gold Member

:rofl:

That and duct tape will carry you through life, my son. :biggrin: