Strain Gauging Assistance Required

In summary, the conversation discusses the attachment of a full Wheatstone bridge to the underside of a cantilever beam for strain gauging. The question of where to mount the gauges and their orientation is raised, along with the use of I-Y-I tabs and the potential for temperature sensitivity. The suggested solution is to use a triple gauge rosette to eliminate errors associated with mounting angle.
george1989
Hi All

I am a mechanical engineering student and require to attach a full Wheatstone bridge to the underside of a cantilever beam, 103x27x5 mm LxWxH. Where would be the best location to mount the gauges?, also in which orientation should I mount them? All parallel to the length of the beam? All perpendicular? 2 parallel, 2 perpendicular? Also I have been reading a bit about I-Y-I tabs used for strain gauging and am a bit lost.

Any help / direction to relevant information would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

George

Engineering news on Phys.org
This may help.

http://www.omega.com/techref/pdf/StrainGage_Measurement.pdf"

Last edited by a moderator:
Are you using a rosette or a single gauge? If you are using a single gauge, you will notice that it is designed to work in one direction. Using two gauges are mounted in the single gauge solution because they are very sensitive to temperature changes. The angle that it is bonded to the surface is very critical for reliable results. I recommend using a triple gauge rosette to get rid of any errors associated with mounting angle.

What is strain gauging?

Strain gauging is a method of measuring the strain or deformation of an object by attaching a strain gauge to it. The strain gauge measures the change in electrical resistance as the object is deformed, which can then be used to calculate the amount of strain.

Why is strain gauging important?