Finding the Tangent Plane at a Point on a Unit Sphere

In summary: Just divide your equation by √3. In summary, the conversation discusses finding the equation of a tangent plane at a specific point on a unit sphere with the center at the origin. The solution is simpler and does not require gradients. The surface normal vector is given by (2x, 2y, 2z) and the equation of the plane is found by using the parameters of the radius vector and the distance between the plane and the origin. The conversation also mentions an incorrect answer choice and the correct solution being closer to another incorrect answer choice.
JonNash
The equation of a tangent plane at the point (1/sqrt3, -1/sqrt3, 1/sqrt3) for a unit sphere with center at origin.

I'm studying for an entrance and this is in the previous question paper MCQ. I've been trying to solve this by studying similar problems but somehow I think the solution here is simpler and does not need gradients to solve. Some of the threads pointed to the possibility that the surface normal vector is given by (2x,2y,2z), but it leads me to no solution. I've tried another solution where the surface normal (not normalized) is given by

P(ø,θ) = (sinøcosθ, sinøsinθ, cosø)

and the vector product of partial derivatives of the above are used but its making no sense to me. Could you please help me out.

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF! BTW this thread should probably be moved to the math homework forum.

The solution is very simple. Just know that the radius vector joining the point of contact with the plane and the origin will be perpendicular to the plane. This is your "normal' vector. Find this vector in terms of the three unit vectors. Also find the distance between the plane and the origin.
Now, you have the parameters needed to solve this problem.

Which equation do you want? Vector or Cartesian?

JonNash said:
I've tried another solution where the surface normal (not normalized) is given by