Third derivative and polar coordinates

In summary, the second derivative of the position of a particle moving in the plane, in polar coordinates, is (r''-r(\vartheta')2)er + (r\vartheta''+2r'\vartheta')eo. To differentiate this, you need to know (er)' and (eθ)' and use the product rule on R'''(t). R'''(1) can be found using the same method, but with er' = θeθ' and eθ' = -θer'.
squenshl
I'm studying for a maths test.
I know that the second derivative of the position R(t) of a particle moving in the plane, in polar coordinates, is (r''-r([tex]\vartheta[/tex]')2)er + (r[tex]\vartheta[/tex]''+2r'[tex]\vartheta[/tex]')eo. o = [tex]\vartheta[/tex]

How to differentiate this to find R'''(t), in polar coordinates and in turn find R'''(1) in polar coordinates if R(t) has polar coordinates r(t) = t2, [tex]\vartheta[/tex](t) = t2

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi squenshl! :smile:

(have a theta: θ :wink:)

Hint: what is (er)' ? what is (eθ)' ? :smile:

er' = [tex]\vartheta[/tex]'e([tex]\vartheta[/tex])
e([tex]\vartheta[/tex])' = -[tex]\vartheta[/tex]'(er)

(what happened to that θ i gave you? :confused:)

ok, so (rer)' = r'er + rθ'eθ,

and similarly, (r'er + rθ'eθ)' = … ?

(r'er + rθ'eθ)'' = … ? :smile:

I keep getting different answers everytime.
I must be doing something wrong.
Can I just do the fact that er' = [tex]\vartheta'e_\vartheta[/tex] & e[tex]\vartheta[/tex] = -[tex]\vartheta'e_r[/tex]
and then just use the product rule on R''(t) to get R'''(t).

Last edited:
Yes. :smile:

(But if you keep getting something wrong, it's a good idea to find out why, so show us what you got anyway :wink:)