Time Dilation, Mass-Energy Equivalence: Implications for Time Passage

In summary: Mass-energy equivalence says that all mass is energy, compressed down to the level where we can see it. So if you take a rocket and send it off at high speed, the energy in the rocket is doing all sorts of amazing things, like making the rocket go faster, making it fly higher, making it last longer, and so forth. But from the perspective of someone on the ground, the person in the rocket is just stationary. The same is true for every other object in the universe: from the perspective of an observer outside the universe, every object in the universe is constantly moving, but from the perspective of an observer inside the universe, the object is always stationary.This seems
PhyCurious
TL;DR Summary
Given the principle of time dilation and the fact that matter and energy are one and the same, what does that tell us objectively about the passage of time?
I'm an amateur physics enthusiast, and there is a question that's been in the back of my mind for some time that I haven't been able to answer on my own, and haven't gotten a satisfactory answer elsewhere. First, I want to define a couple of terms and make sure my understanding isn't breaking down there before diving into my question on the implication.

First is the concept of time dilation. When an object / person / particle is traveling at an extremely high velocity or is near a massive gravitational object, they experience time dilation relative to an outside observer. E.g., me and my twin brother are on earth, I travel in a rocket at the speed of light for one light-year, and return to Earth at the same velocity, I experienced the trip as having been instant, but my twin brother is now two years older. Is this generally the correct understanding?