1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Top-notch mathematical physicists at mediocre schools?

1. Nov 4, 2009 #1
    Greetings,

I am a mathematics masters student applying for a PhD program in mathematics. I have a strong interest in mathematical physics. My credentials would not allow me to go to a top-rated math PhD program, so I'd have to settle for a second- or third-rate program.

My question is this: Can you recommend a mediocre mathematics PhD program that has top-notch professors doing research in mathematical physics? The quintessential example would be John Baez at UC-Riverside, an excellent mathematical physicist at a mediocre school. Can you suggest others?

Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 5, 2009 #2
    What are your credentials and why do you identify yourself with a mediocre school if you have strong interests?

I mean if you satisfy the bare minimums for mediocre schools you should be able to apply for decent-to-top schools like the top 25.

Plus you have a masters, so

(1) you'll cost less to the school because you need less classes to graduate, less tuition.
    (2) you have taken many more grad level classes as compared to the fresh undergrad that competes with you in the same pool
    (3) if you did research , you have experience and you are ready to pursue problems right from start.
    (4) you have more quality letters if you got to work with professors and got them to like you.

I could think of many good pluses in any case like this. I wouldn't make the decision myself and apply for a few good school anyway.

Last edited: Nov 5, 2009
  4. Nov 5, 2009 #3
    I don't think you should approach it in this way, work hard, do what you love, meditate and live peacefully. the rest will come to you.