Uncovering the True Nature of NOx Production in Heat Engines

In summary, the conditions that enhance NOx generation are high temperatures and a stochiometric fuel to air ratio. This is because the reaction rate is increased.
Clausius2
Science Advisor
Gold Member
As a future engineer, my proffessors teach us to be concerned about pollutant emissions. I always hear about NOx production inside heat engines and turbomachinery. But little is explained about the true nature of this problem.

Usually, we are told that NOx is produced at high temperatures, when Fuel to Air ratio is nearly stochiometric. I want the reasons of a chemicist about that. Why those conditions enhance NOx generation?. Which are the general conditions for NOx formation inside a combustion chamber?

Thanks.

Chemistry news on Phys.org
I'll take a stab at this. Let's say you have oxygen and nitrogen present in an engine or something so you have the reaction

N2 + O2------>NOx

Inside an engine the temperature is really high so thermodynamically

G=H-TS. A higher temperature will lower delta G, meaning the reaction can occur spontaneously more easily. Kinetically, using the Arrhenius equation
K=Ae^-Ea/RT

you can see a larger temperature will increase the rate constant of the reaction.

Larger temperatures should push the reaction further thermodynamically and kinetically.

You're explanation makes sense. But is TOO general. It could be employable with several reactions. The NOx reactions seem to have a particular behavior when T is high enough and with stochiometric Fuel to Air ratio in spark plug engines. In fact, FAR approx 1 are avoided for that reason in spite of being the FAR of maximum indicated mean effective pressure. I have never heard the opinion of a chemicist about that. Usually engineers don't get into much depth when explaining it.

Thanks for trying it.