Understanding 3D NMR HNCA Spectra: Identifying Peak Data and Arranging in Order

In summary, a physics student is taking a class in biophysics in hopes of working in the shared space between the two disciplines. They are working with 3D NMR data of a short protein and are trying to determine the number of residues present based on the number of peaks in each slice. They are seeking confirmation or correction on their approach. Additionally, they are advised to have information on the protein's sequence and size before doing assignments. The presence of two peaks in each slice is due to the HNCA experiment. It is also mentioned that shuffling the slices is not necessary and the question is moved to a forum for chemistry and biology homework help.
Allday
hey bio people,

Im a physics student, but I am taking a class in biophysics with hopes to work in the space that the two disciplines share. Anybody do 3D NMR here...

I'm looking at slices in the N direction of a 3D HNCA spectrum of a short protein (so the amide hydrogen and alpha carbon correlations) and there are two peaks in each slice. to me this represents the data from 4 residues because 4 N slices with data indicate at least 4 amide groups. logical? the next step is to arrange them in order, but I think I can do that if i know the number of residues I am dealing with and 4 is what I am thinking. confirmation or correction would be helpfull,

thanks

Physics news on Phys.org