Understanding the Degree of a Continuous Map g:Circle --> Circle

In summary, the conversation discusses the difficulty in understanding the degree of a continuous map from a circle to a circle. Lawson defines the degree of such a map as the difference between two values of a lift of the map, which can be thought of as the number of times the image of the circle wraps around the circle under the map. However, this definition may not work for all continuous functions, such as the example provided.
jimisrv
Hi,

I am having some problems understanding the degree of a continuous map g:circle --> circle

I have found a definition in Munkres (pg 367) that I can't really understand (I'm an engineering student with little algebraic topology) and one in Lawson (pg 181), Topology:A Geometric approach, that makes some sense.

Lawson defines it:

For g as above, consider p : I --> circle and a lift h:I --> R
such that gp=ph

Then define the degree of g as

deg g =h(1)-h(2)

Intuitively I understand this to be the integer number of times the image of the circle wraps around the circle under g? If so, what about the continuous function g(x)=exp(i*pi*x/2) where x is in[0,2pi). The image would only wrap around half the circle, which would be homotopic to the constant map, a map of degree 0...but according to the above definition this would have degree 1/2?

Thanks for any help!

Regards,
Mike

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Your example doesn't work because [0, 2pi) is not a circle. If you try to make a circle out of it by identifying 0 and 2pi, then your map would be discontinuous, since g(0) = 1 and g(2pi) = -1.

(Sorry that this isn't a very formal argument, but I think it gets the point across.)

What is the degree of a continuous map?