Understanding Torque, Circular Motion, and Momentum: Physics Help for Beginners

• Thread starter Riya
  • Start date
In summary: Momentum is a force that causes an object to keep moving after the force is removed. It's the product of mass and velocity and is always conserved - you can't create or destroy it. Torque is like a twisting force and is what causes something to rotate. It's the rotational analog of a force and is measured in newtons. angular acceleration is just a fancy way of saying "rotational velocity". angular velocity is the rate of rotation around a particular axis. unbalanced torque is just a fancy way of saying "unbalanced force". An unbalanced force is a force that is not providing the proper amount of acceleration to keep
Riya
this is my first time taking physics and I'm regretting as to why i took it...My teacher is not at all helpful... he never quizzes us...to help us he think itz a waste of time...

so please help me understand these:
-torque
-circular motion
-momentum

thankyou :smile:

Physics news on Phys.org
The question is a little general for a medium like this. Let's see if this helps:

Torque - well, do you understand force? Forces cause things to accelerate linearly, i.e. in a straight line. Torques are the rotational analogues of forces. Torques are "twisting forces" - they cause things to accelerate in a rotational way. Either of them can be used to provide the other. For instance, on a merry-go-round (which I think is called a "roundabout" outside the US), you start the thing going by pushing on the outside. The push you apply is a force - it tends to make the outside of the merry-go-round accelerate. Since the outside is attached by the structure of the merry-go-round to the center, there is a moment arm between where you apply the force and the center. Consequently, your force provides a torque to start the merry-go-round rotating.