1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Vector identity proof using index notation

1. Sep 15, 2010 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Using index notation to prove

[tex]\vec{\nabla}\times\left(\vec{A}\times\vec{B}\right) = \left(\vec{B}\bullet\vec{\nabla}\right)\vec{A} - \left(\vec{A}\bullet\vec{\nabla}\right)\vec{B} + \vec{A}\left(\vec{\nabla}\bullet\vec{B}\right) - \vec{B}\left(\vec{\nabla}\bullet\vec{A}\right)[/tex]

2. Relevant equations
    --?

3. The attempt at a solution
    I tried converting the right side first...
    [tex]B_{a}A_{k,a}-A_{a}B{k,a}+A_{a}\epsilon_{abc}B_{b,c}-[/tex][tex]B_{a}\epsilon_{abc} A_{b,c}[/tex]

but i don't really know if this is right... i'm very very new to the index notation system. i don't really understand the rules beyond the basics. will someone please give me some clue as to where to go from here?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 15, 2010 #2
    Systems of index notation vary, so you may need to give a reference or a description of your system. Using the index notation I know, the del operator is written [tex]\partial_a[/tex], so the right side becomes [tex]B^b \partial_b A^a - A^b \partial_b B^a + A^a \partial_b B^b - B^a \partial_b A^b[/tex], and the left side becomes [tex]\mathbf{\nabla}\times \epsilon_{abc} A^b B^c = \epsilon^{ade} \partial_d \epsilon_{ebc} A^b B^c[/tex]. From there, try to figure out how to contract the epsilons on the left against each other. You definitely shouldn't have any epsilons on the right side, because all you have is dot products, they're not antisymmetric.

4. Sep 16, 2010 #3