Vectors - Find resultant displacement

In summary: I figured it out. For the angle we need North of East and what I was getting was South of East so what I did is subtract 90, since it's a 90 degree triangle, from the angle I was getting and I got the angle for North of East.
FalconKICK

Homework Statement

While exploring a cave, a spelunker starts at the entrance and moves the following distances. She goes 75 m north, 250 m east, 135 m at an angle 30° north of east, and 125 m south. Find the resultant displacement from the cave entrance.
Magnitude

Homework Equations

I do not quite understand vectors all that much. I am new to this and I do not know where to begin with that problem.

The Attempt at a Solution

I've tried drawing a picture but it doesn't seem right so I'm stuck there.

Physics news on Phys.org
Do you know about vector components and vector addition?

The only "hard" one is that "135 m at an angle 30° north of east". If you draw a picture of that, you should see a right triangle with hypotenuse of length 135 and angle 30° The "opposite side" (North) is 135 sin(30)= 135/2= 67.5 m. The "near side" (East) is 135 cos(30)= 135 sqrt(3)/2= 116.9 m

Now make a list of East-West and North-South distances treating "East" and "North" as positive, "West" and "South" as negative:
East-West North-South
0 75
250 0
67.5 117
0 -125
Finally add up each of those. If you like, once you have a total for "East-West" and "North-South" you can use the Pythagorean theorem to get the straight line distance and the arctan to get the angle so you can write the answer in the same form as the vectors given in the problem.

HallsofIvy said:
The only "hard" one is that "135 m at an angle 30° north of east". If you draw a picture of that, you should see a right triangle with hypotenuse of length 135 and angle 30° The "opposite side" (North) is 135 sin(30)= 135/2= 67.5 m. The "near side" (East) is 135 cos(30)= 135 sqrt(3)/2= 116.9 m