Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What are the Adavantages of High Amperage?

1. Jun 25, 2012 #1
    What are the advantages of having high amperage? By the way, I'm rather new to electronics.

I know that having high-voltage reduces the energy loss through the wire, and you don't need as thick a wire. But I cannot find the advantages of high amperage on the internet. This may be due to my bad wording of the question, or due to my lack of knowledge on the subject, however I still would like to know.

Thanks for any help, in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 25, 2012 #2

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

One example of where it is advantageous (a necessity really) to have high current (and very low voltage) is in electronic welding.

It would be very dangerous to provide welding-level power using very much voltage, so typically (as I recall) welding is done with 3 volts and hundreds of amps.

4. Jun 25, 2012 #3

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

High currents are usually needed to provide high amounts of power to something. I don't really know if there's an "advantage" or not. I always thought of current as simply the consequence of your voltage and resistance.

5. Jun 25, 2012 #4
    Thanks for the fast replies.

Why is it dangerous to have high voltage in electronic welding? Is it so that the arc cannot travel far, or doesn't want to go through your body?

6. Jun 25, 2012 #5

marcusl

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

It's not so much a safety thing (welding is already plenty dangerous) but a property of the welding arc, which has very low resistance. Producing high power to melt the metal with a low resistance naturally requires high current and low voltage.

7. Jun 25, 2012 #6

Drakkith

I believe a higher voltage would increase the current even further.

8. Jun 25, 2012 #7

marcusl

Science Advisor
    Gold Member