1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What equation or pattern applies to this kind of combinatorial possiblity?

1. Jan 12, 2012 #1
    Hello, I am a philosophy student. I have no extensive training at math so please don't deluge me with formalism or terms of art off the bat. I also know that I run the risk of asking a really basic question here, but forgive me if so.

In my studies, I am often confronted with the need to enumerate the possibilities given the following circumstances.

Take, say, the ordered string of symbols XYZ.

Now take the square bracket, [..] which can go around any of the symbols or any ordered string of the symbols.

The rules are the square bracket must go around at least one of the symbols.

I get the following possibilities:

[X]YZ
    X[Y]Z
    XY[Z]
    [XY]Z
    X[YZ]
    [XYZ]
    [X][Y]Z
    X[Y][Z]
    [X]Y[Z]
    [XY][Z]
    [X][YZ}
    [X][Y][Z]

Can someone please explain the general pattern or formula that allows one to calculate the number of these possibilities from an n-ly long string of symbols? So a triply long string of symbols nets you 12 possibilities.

Update***

I would also like to know about the pattern that would get one the following set of possibilities:

[X]YZ
    X[Y]Z
    XY[Z]
    [XY]Z
    [[X]Y]Z
    [X[Y]]Z
    X[YZ]
    X[[Y]Z]
    X[Y[Z]]
    [XYZ]
    [[X]YZ]
    [X[Y]Z]
    [XY[Z]]
    [[XY]Z]
    [[[X]Y]Z]
    [[X[Y]]Z]
    [X[YZ]]
    [X[[Y]Z]]
    [X[Y[Z]]]
    [X][Y]Z
    X[Y][Z]
    [X]Y[Z]
    [XY][Z]
    [[X]Y][Z]
    [X[Y]][Z]
    [X][YZ]
    [X][[Y]Z]
    [X][Y[Z]]
    [X][Y][Z]

and:

[X]YZ
    X[Y]Z
    XY[Z]
    [XY]Z
    [[X]Y]Z
    [X[Y]]Z
    X[YZ]
    X[[Y]Z]
    X[Y[Z]]
    [XYZ]
    [[X]YZ]
    [X[Y]Z]
    [XY[Z]]
    [[XY]Z]
    [[XY][Z]]
    [[[X]Y]Z]
    [[[X]Y][Z]]