What equation or pattern applies to this kind of combinatorial possiblity?

• Thread starter mcintyw2
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses the need to enumerate possibilities in a string of symbols by placing square brackets around them. The rules state that at least one symbol must be enclosed by the brackets. The formula for calculating the number of possibilities is not simple, but a short computer program can be written to count them. The second part of the conversation mentions a similar problem with nested brackets, and suggests looking at Bell numbers and Catalan numbers for potential solutions.
mcintyw2
Hello, I am a philosophy student. I have no extensive training at math so please don't deluge me with formalism or terms of art off the bat. I also know that I run the risk of asking a really basic question here, but forgive me if so.

In my studies, I am often confronted with the need to enumerate the possibilities given the following circumstances.

Take, say, the ordered string of symbols XYZ.

Now take the square bracket, [..] which can go around any of the symbols or any ordered string of the symbols.

The rules are the square bracket must go around at least one of the symbols.

I get the following possibilities:

[X]YZ
X[Y]Z
XY[Z]
[XY]Z
X[YZ]
[XYZ]
[X][Y]Z
X[Y][Z]
[X]Y[Z]
[XY][Z]
[X][YZ}
[X][Y][Z]

Can someone please explain the general pattern or formula that allows one to calculate the number of these possibilities from an n-ly long string of symbols? So a triply long string of symbols nets you 12 possibilities.Update***

I would also like to know about the pattern that would get one the following set of possibilities:

[X]YZ
X[Y]Z
XY[Z]
[XY]Z
[[X]Y]Z
[X[Y]]Z
X[YZ]
X[[Y]Z]
X[Y[Z]]
[XYZ]
[[X]YZ]
[X[Y]Z]
[XY[Z]]
[[XY]Z]
[[[X]Y]Z]
[[X[Y]]Z]
[X[YZ]]
[X[[Y]Z]]
[X[Y[Z]]]
[X][Y]Z
X[Y][Z]
[X]Y[Z]
[XY][Z]
[[X]Y][Z]
[X[Y]][Z]
[X][YZ]
[X][[Y]Z]
[X][Y[Z]]
[X][Y][Z]

and:

[X]YZ
X[Y]Z
XY[Z]
[XY]Z
[[X]Y]Z
[X[Y]]Z
X[YZ]
X[[Y]Z]
X[Y[Z]]
[XYZ]
[[X]YZ]