What happens when you vary sigma in the s-plane?

In summary, decay rate is the measure of how quickly a substance or particle breaks down into smaller components. It is typically measured in terms of the number of particles or atoms that decay per unit of time and can be affected by factors such as temperature, pressure, and the presence of other particles. Decay rate is closely related to radioactivity and cannot be manipulated, but external factors can alter its rate in some cases.
gtr32x
Hi all,

I'm studying Laplace transform right now. And I am trying to understand the s variable in the s-plane. I found online that s = σ + jω where ω is the frequency and σ is the decay rate. Frequency is pretty easy to understand but I can't seem to find anywhere that explains what is the decay rate. Can anybody help please?

Thanks!

Mathematics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF;
Have a look at how the variable s is used ... what happens when you vary that sigma?

Related to What happens when you vary sigma in the s-plane?

1. What is decay rate?

The decay rate is the rate at which a substance or particle decays or breaks down into smaller components.

2. How is decay rate measured?

Decay rate is typically measured in terms of the number of particles or atoms that decay per unit of time. This is often expressed as a decay constant or half-life.

3. What affects the decay rate?

The decay rate can be affected by various factors such as temperature, pressure, and the presence of other particles or radiation. Additionally, the type of particle or substance and its stability can also impact the decay rate.

4. How is decay rate related to radioactivity?

Decay rate is closely related to radioactivity, as radioactive substances have unstable nuclei that decay at a constant rate. The rate of decay determines the half-life of a radioactive substance, which is the time it takes for half of the original substance to decay.

5. Can decay rate be manipulated?