What is force potential and how does it relate to Bernoulli's Equation?

In summary, force potential is a measure of the work a force can do and is calculated by multiplying the force by the distance over which it is applied. It is a concept related to potential energy and can be explained using basic calculus principles.
sarvesh0303

Homework Statement

I was reading up on the Bernoulli's incompressible flow equation on wikipedia when I came across a thing called force potential(ψ). Could anyone explain what is it ? Is there an equation for finding the force potential at a point?? I would like to know the equation.

Homework Equations

Bernoulli's Equation

The Attempt at a Solution

PS: If it is a calculus concept, please explain it in a simple manner as I am a beginner in calculus and I just started learning Indefinite Integration 2-3 months ago. If it cannot be explained without advanced calculus, then please inform me. :)
Thanks in Advance

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Force potential is a measure of the ability of a force to do work. It is equal to the force times the distance through which it is applied. W = F x d Potential energy is the energy of position. It is the energy of something due to its position in the universe.

FAQ: What is force potential and how does it relate to Bernoulli's Equation?

1. What is force potential?

Force potential is a term used in physics to describe the amount of energy that is stored in an object due to its position in a force field. It is a measure of the potential for that object to exert a force on another object.

2. How is force potential different from force?

Force is a measure of the strength of a push or pull on an object, while force potential is a measure of the stored energy that could potentially be used to exert a force. Force potential is a potential energy, while force is an actual energy being applied.

3. Can force potential be negative?