When do I need to use virtual work in writing the equations of motion?

In summary, the conversation discusses the equations of motion for Lagrangian dynamics and the use of the principle of virtual work to find the non-conservative generalized forces in the presence of non-conservative forces. The equations of motion are given by \frac{d}{dt}\frac{\partial L}{\partial\dot{q}_{i}} = \frac{\partial L}{\partial {q}_{i}} and \frac{d}{dt}\frac{\partial L}{\partial\dot{q}_{i}} - \frac{\partial L}{\partial {q}_{i}} = F_{q}. The latter equation is used when non-conservative forces are present and the virtual work principle is used to find the non-cons
jhosamelly
I'm studying for our comprehensive exam . I just need to clarify something. So the equation of motion for lagrangian dynamics is [itex]\frac{d}{dt}\frac{\partial L}{\partial\dot{q}_{i}}[/itex] = [itex]\frac{\partial L}{\partial {q}_{i}}[/itex]

However, in my notes there are example which uses the principle of virtual work wherein [itex]\frac{d}{dt}\frac{\partial L}{\partial\dot{q}_{i}}[/itex] - [itex]\frac{\partial L}{\partial {q}_{i}}[/itex] = [itex]F_{q}[/itex]

Then we look for [itex]F_{q}[/itex] using virtual work.

However isn't [itex]\frac{d}{dt}\frac{\partial L}{\partial\dot{q}_{i}}[/itex] - [itex]\frac{\partial L}{\partial {q}_{i}}[/itex] = 0 ?

Physics news on Phys.org
I think I can help you, but I don't want to answer without knowing what F sub q stands for just in case I make things worse. Can you specify what it represents please?

q is the generalized coordinate.

For example if I have r (radial distance) as generalized coordinate I'll have

[itex]\frac{d}{dt}\frac{\partial L}{\partial\dot{r}}[/itex] - [itex]\frac{\partial L}{\partial {r}}[/itex] = [itex]F_{r}[/itex]