1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Where did Newtons Second law come from?

1. Aug 18, 2013 #1
    I want to preface this question with the fact that I am a scum noob.

How did Newton come up with the second law of motion. As I understand it, it is only derived through experiential observations. I have tried many different Google searches but I can't find anything relevant.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 18, 2013 #2

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Did you try 'Newton', 'Laws of gravitation' or 'Keplers laws of motion'?

4. Aug 18, 2013 #3

Philip Wood

Gold Member

What better justification of a Law of Nature could you have than 'experiential observations'?

The philosophical difficulties with N2L are not, imo, that it's (only) justified by appeal to experiment, but that this can't be done satisfactorily because it's hard to come up with a way of measuring force that is independent of the law itself. Some physicists don't even think it's beyond dispute that two identical stretched springs in parallel will exert twice the force on a body that one such spring will do by itself.

I'll stop here. This question usually attracts lots of replies!

5. Aug 18, 2013 #4
    You make it sound definitional or some how known a priori.

6. Aug 18, 2013 #5

Philip Wood

Gold Member

There are those who would argue that N2L is a definition of force. They might concede an a posteriori input: our experience with pulling things with stretched springs and so on suggests that such a definition would be useful. The usefulness is then confirmed by the appearance of force - replaceable (it is argued) by rate of change of momentum - in so many laws; Lorentz force on a charged particle, gravitational forces, and so on.

Last edited: Aug 18, 2013