Redox Reactions: Identifying Agents & Writing Half-Eqns

• Thread starter DarylMBCP
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Redox
In summary, the first equation shows that 3N2H4 is reduced to 4NH3 and N2. The second equation shows that N2H4 is oxidized to N2 and H+
DarylMBCP
Hey guys, I'm really new to Redox reactions so any help is greatly appreciated. How do I identify the oxidizing and reducing agents from the chemical equation;

3N2H4 --> 4NH3 + N2

Why is it that the agents are products of the equation, shouldn't they be the reactants? I'm also not really sure how to write the half-equations since there are two compounds with Nitrogen. How do I write out the equation for the half-equation on Hydrogen since it is always supposed to be +1 so it is a spectator ion?

Sry but I'm really unsure of these redox reaction questions. Thanks for the help.

Physics news on Phys.org
To find what is being oxidised (and hence the reducing agent) and what is being reduced (and hence the oxidising agent), you could assign oxidation numbers to each species involved. Then note that when something is oxidised, its oxidation number increases, and when it is reduced, its oxidation number decreases.

you could assign oxidation numbers to each species involved.

When you say species, do u mean compounds? All the compounds presented in the chemical equation have neutral charges so how do I find the oxidation numbers of the compounds?

when something is oxidised, its oxidation number increases, and when it is reduced, its oxidation number decreases.

However, for the oxidizing agent to be reduced by the reducing agent and the reducing agent be oxidized by the oxidizing agent, shldn't there be two compounds for the reactants since there are two agents?

Thanks for the help.

Oxidation numbers are assigned to indivdual atoms.

In this case the same substance acts as reducing and oxidizing agent, it is called disproportionation.

There is no H+ here.