Adjusting the pressure of helium flow to account for smaller tube

brandspanking new
TL;DR Summary
How to adjust bar to maintain the same helium flow rate from larger to smaller tubes
I’m not at all sure I’m posting this in the right forum. If not, please forgive me. Also, I have no background in physics. That said, here goes:

If 2bar of helium flowing through a 9.0mm inner diameter tube yields a flow rate of 15 liters per minute, what bar would one need to yield an identical flow rate through a 3.2mm inner diameter tube? Considering that the larger (9.0mm) tube is about 2.8 times larger than the smaller (3.2mm) one, would one just multiply 2bar by 2.8, which would equal about 9bar? I’m guessing not. So is there a formula one could use to determine what new bar one would need to yield an identical flow rate?

Engineering news on Phys.org
First, I need to make sure that I understand your question. Does the sketch below correctly show the problem?
Tube flow.jpg

Assumptions:
1) The flow rate is 15 liters per minute at STP - Standard Temperature and Pressure
2) The pressure is in bar of gauge pressure, not absolute pressure
3) The tube is discharging to atmosphere - 0 bar gauge, AKA 1.0 bar absolute
4) The tube is very long (several meters or longer) and smooth inside
5) The 3.2 mm tube is the same length, and has the same pressure at discharge end as the 9 mm tube

Please confirm or correct the above sketch and every one of the above assumptions. Then we can start the calculations.

The sketch is correct, as are all assumptions less two:

1. The temperature is 70 F.

2. The length of the hose is only 1.5 meters.

Thank you.

Likes Chestermiller
What is the mass flow rate at 2 bars?