Solving Arccos Problems: 1) arccos x=pi/2 and 2) arccos x=3pi/2

• Thread starter meowet
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation involves a person seeking help with understanding trigonometry equations involving arccosine and requesting for someone to solve the equations for them. The responder suggests understanding the concept of inverse functions and reminds the person that the answer can be found by simply rearranging the equation.
meowet
(1)arccos x = pi/2 and (2)arccos x = 3 pi/2

I am new to this trigonometry equation math, and I would glad if someone could give me a site or so that can explain how to solce these equations. however I would be glad if someone could solve these problems for me.. because I have no one to ask

A detailed explanation would be appreciated

Physics news on Phys.org
Since you haven't shown any attempt to solve them yourself, we don't know what you know or what definitions you are working with. Do you understand that "arccos" is simply the inverse of cosine? Do you understand that if f and f-1 are inverse functions and y= f-1(x), then x= f(y). In other words, the answer is staring you in the face!

. Thank you for your interest in learning more about solving arccos problems. Arccos is a mathematical function that represents the inverse cosine function. This means that it takes in a value and gives the angle that has that cosine value. In order to solve these equations, we need to understand some key concepts and steps.

1) arccos x = pi/2

To solve this equation, we need to understand the relationship between the arccos function and the cosine function. The cosine function takes in an angle and gives the ratio of the adjacent side to the hypotenuse in a right triangle. The arccos function, on the other hand, takes in a ratio and gives the angle that has that ratio. So, in this equation, we are looking for the angle that has a cosine value of pi/2.