Asking recommendation for solid state books

In summary, when seeking a book on solid state physics, Kittel may not be the most engaging option. Other recommended books include Ashcroft & Mermin, Callaway, Yu & Cardona, and Madelung. Ziman's books provide a less rigorous but more intuitive approach, while going back to older texts such as Slater or Seitz can provide a deeper understanding of the subject.
runninglow
i am new to solid state physics.i have tried kittel already.i found it pretty boring.can anybody suggest any other book on this subject?

Physics news on Phys.org
Ashcroft & Mermin, Callaway, Yu & Cardona, Madelung and a whole bunch more...

http://browse.barnesandnoble.com/browse/nav.asp?visgrp=nonfiction&N=170482&Ne=170159+170482

Last edited by a moderator:
I agree that Kittel is pretty dry, but so is Ashcroft & Mermin - for a field that is so rich with applications, it's odd that the "standard" texts are so lacking in motivation. I've not read Yu & Cardona or Madelung, so I can't speak for those.

Another couple of good books were written by Ziman, they are not rigorous, but when you sit down and actually read the text around his derivations you'll get a sense of what is actually going on in a solid.

Yu and Cardona hits semiconductors hard and is a great compliment to Ashcroft and Mermin who doesn't really touch them at all. Kittel has a decent mix, but is really the standard along with A&M.

Solid state is full of pick and shovel work, you have to deal with the dry intros out there, but after the fact you can do some really good work. Another good place to start is go back to the really old stuff, Slater or Seitz, they really knew how to write good books and you'll really get an appreciation for how far the subject has come.

1. What are some recommended books for learning about solid state physics?