1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Support PF! Reminder for those going back to school to buy their text books via PF Here!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Books on tensor analysis

1. Sep 16, 2009 #1
    Hi All ,
    I am looking for a book on introduction to tensor analysis . I do not have much of a background in mathematics .. I have an undergraduate degree in engineering .

My aim is to understand General Relativity ... I would also like to understand Quantum Mechanics ... It feels odd that there are these great theories around and I do not even know enough to appreciate them .

When I was in class 12 ( in india we call it class 12 -the year before we join our undergraduate degree ... i donno what it is called elsewhere) , I picked up this book by J.Baggot "The meaning of quantum theory". After reading it I was completely enthralled by the world around us . During that time I read quite a few books on special relativity ( I must give note to a book by Resnick that I read and understood quite a bit ) and Quantum physics .... But at the time my knowledge of maths was very poor ( I knew only basic differential calculus and integral calculus - knew nothing of partial derivatives / multivariable calculus etc. ) , so i was unable to understand most of the content .
    After that year .. I joined my undergraduate degree and in the 4 years there .. i hardly learnt anything at all ( it is best not to talk about that period ).
    Now I am past that period and would like to restore my interests in theoretical physics by self learning ( as other options to not seem to be feasible right now)

I know a little about multivariable calculus and diff equations , matrices , probability now .. but would need a refresher book for the same