Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Bra-Ket notation confusion

1. Oct 13, 2015 #1
    I'm new to bra-ket notation and am slightly confused; given an infinite square well with eigenvectors:

[tex] \phi = \sqrt{2/a}\sin( (n\pi x)/a) [/tex]

And we assume the form: H |φ> = E_n |φ>

How would you then represent φ in terms of a column matrix, because that what I thought |φ> represents. Given some operator H (matrix) how would I operate with that matrix on |φ>?

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 13, 2015 #2

Orodruin

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

States are not column matrices and operators are not matrices. For separable spaces, it is possible to represent the state with a (generally infinite) column vector and the operators with a (generally infinite) matrix. What they will look like depends on the basis you use.

4. Oct 16, 2015 #3
    Well, I guess I'm confused, too. I have a book by Leonard Susskind on non-relativistic QM, and he explicitly represents kets with column vectors, bras with row vectors, and linear operators with matrices. He does make it clear they are dependent on a particular choice of basis.

5. Oct 16, 2015 #4
    And this is actually a good approach to learning QM. In full QM the bras, kets, and operators are mathematical objects which are more general than that, but basically they still have the same operational properties as vectors and matrices.

6. Oct 16, 2015 #5

Orodruin

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

In no way does this contradict what I said. Matrices and row vectors are perfectly fine ways of representing linear operators and kets in finite dimensional Hilbert spaces. The problem comes when you try to do this in infinite dimensional ones (where you would get infinite matrices and vectors) or, even worse, non-separable ones.

7. Oct 16, 2015 #6