How to Represent Eigenvectors in Column Matrix Form Using Bra-Ket Notation?

In summary, the bra-ket notation is a way of writing the state vector and the operators associated with it in terms of a column vector and a row vector, respectively. The vectors are still represented as abstract objects, and they are still complete and orthonormal. The basis used to represent the observables is usually determined as the eigenbases of self-adjoint operators on the Hilbert space of the system, and the operators can then be written as matrices with a column for the ##\phi_n^*## and a row for the ##\psi
iAlexN
I'm new to bra-ket notation and am slightly confused; given an infinite square well with eigenvectors:

[tex] \phi = \sqrt{2/a}\sin( (n\pi x)/a) [/tex]

And we assume the form: H |φ> = E_n |φ>

How would you then represent φ in terms of a column matrix, because that what I thought |φ> represents. Given some operator H (matrix) how would I operate with that matrix on |φ>?

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
States are not column matrices and operators are not matrices. For separable spaces, it is possible to represent the state with a (generally infinite) column vector and the operators with a (generally infinite) matrix. What they will look like depends on the basis you use.

Likes vanhees71 and bhobba
Well, I guess I'm confused, too. I have a book by Leonard Susskind on non-relativistic QM, and he explicitly represents kets with column vectors, bras with row vectors, and linear operators with matrices. He does make it clear they are dependent on a particular choice of basis.

sandy stone said:
Well, I guess I'm confused, too. I have a book by Leonard Susskind on non-relativistic QM, and he explicitly represents kets with column vectors, bras with row vectors, and linear operators with matrices. He does make it clear they are dependent on a particular choice of basis.