Can a force be applied to a photon in the direction of its travel?

• Thread starter andrewkinnear
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Force Light
In summary: I'd like to be a bit more picky on that issue. Photons are neither particles nor waves but quanta. They are properly described only with relativistic quantum field theory. They have very little in common with "billiard balls". It's not even possible to define their position in a strict sense, which is true for all massive particles with a spin \geq 1.Photons are quanta, which is proper terminology. It's not possible to define their position in a strict sense, because they are a mixture of both a wave and a particle. However, their momentum and energy are clearly defined.
andrewkinnear
Good day all, I am simply curious, so excuse my ignorance, I am not a scientist... I wish to posit a question regarding the speed of light through a vacuum, is it possible to apply a force to a photon in the direction of it's travel? And what happens in that instance? Based on special relativity, is it true to say that the practical mass of a proton along the vector of it's travel is infinite?

Science news on Phys.org
andrewkinnear said:
Good day all, I am simply curious, so excuse my ignorance, I am not a scientist... I wish to posit a question regarding the speed of light through a vacuum, is it possible to apply a force to a photon in the direction of it's travel? And what happens in that instance? Based on special relativity, is it true to say that the practical mass of a proton along the vector of it's travel is infinite?

(I'm assuming you meant to say "photon" not "proton" the second time)