Convert MS Word documents into LaTeX

In summary, the conversation is about converting MS Word documents with MathType equations into LaTeX and then into PDF files. The speaker is asking if this is possible and what software is needed. The other person recommends using a TeX system like MiKTeX and learning the basics of LaTeX. They also suggest converting the equations using commands in MathType. Finally, they question why the speaker wants to convert to LaTeX instead of directly creating PDF files from Word.
jemma
I realize this is most likely an extremely basic question but I can't seem to find the answer...
I am wondering if it's possible to convert MS Word documents (with some MathType equations) into LaTeX (and then into pdf files)? I have never used LaTex before and would appreciate some basic guidance as to (a)is this possible, (b)what software I need to download and (c)what I actually need to do!

Physics news on Phys.org
Try here: http://www.tug.org/utilities/texconv/pctotex.html

I don't have first hand experience of them, but the TeX User Group (TUG) is as good a place to start looking as any.

Obviously you need to install a TeX system on your PC. I would recommend http://miktex.org/ (which is free).

You will need to learn the basics of how to use LaTeX. There are plenty of tutorials on the web, of varying quality. Tutorials produced by universities for their students are usually good. Or read "The not so short introduction to LaTeX2e" (google the title, or look for a file called lshort.pdf).

You'll need to convert the MathType equations to LaTeX first. You can do that with the Toggle TeX command, but you'll get more consistent results by using the Convert Equations command. Both of these commands are on the MathType tab in Word. Look in MathType Help for instructions on using these commands. Post follow-up questions here if you'd like.

If you finally want to create pdf files, why don't you do that directly from word?