1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Drawing Logic Gates

1. May 3, 2006 #1
    Drawing Logic Gates!!!!

hey guys,
    im new to this posting thing on this site......if any of u belong to bossgtcentral.com, i am xcortman there lol..... Anyway guys i am looking for a program that allows me to enter a boolean expression no matter how complicating it is and i want it to give me the Logic Gate diagram for it>>> If any of u guys could help me with this problem.... BD+AB/D/+AB/C
    where + is &.......and / is Not.....Any help will be appreciated>>>
    Thankyou
    jake
    :smile:

2. jcsd
  3. May 3, 2006 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

I googled palasm free download, and got lots of hits:

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=palasm+free+download

PALASM is an assembler for PALs and CPLDs. You code up your logic in ABLE or Verilog, and it compiles the code and generates the programming file (and the report file) for most PALs and CPLDs.

(EDIT -- The report file is where it will tell you how it has hooked up the logic gates in the PAL you have targeted.)

4. May 3, 2006 #3
    hey berkman,
    thankyou ill check it out!!!!!!
    PJ

5. May 3, 2006 #4

chroot

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

My interpretation is that he's looking for a program that will generate a schematic with explicit gate symbols from a given Boolean expression.

- Warren

6. May 3, 2006 #5

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

True, but all I could think of was a CPLD compiler. And that only really helps him because of the constrained architecture of CPLDs. I wonder what he wants the generalized compiler for.... And if he doesn't care about how deep his resulting "sea of gates" is, he's going to have to learn about timing constraints and synchronous design, eh? :devil: :biggrin: