Why does the force increase when holding a bag at an angle of 45 degrees?

In summary, the force that needs to be applied to hold a bag at an angle of 45 degrees with only one person holding it is 1.5x greater than when the bag is held together with two people.
Physicsterian
Hi,

If 2 people are holding a bag at an angle of 45 degrees each, and then only person is going to hold it, it is being said that the force that will have to be applied by that one person will be 1.5 times greater than when he was applying it together with the other. Can anyone explain this or provide a source where I can find information on it considering I am just a beginner in the area (I can work with the SOHCAHTOA rule and know how to break gravity force in its X and y component).

Physics news on Phys.org
Physicsterian said:
HI,
Welcome to PF!
If 2 people are holding a bag at an angle of 45 degrees each, and then only person is going to hold it, it is being said that the force that will have to be applied by that one person will be 1.5 times greater than when he was applying it together with the other. Can anyone explain this or provide a source where I can find information on it considering I am just a beginner in the area (I can work with the SOHCAHTOA rule and know how to break gravity force in its X and y component).
Bag? As in non-rigid? I don't see how a person can hold a non-rigid bag at a 45 degree angle. As soon as one person let's go of the bag it will swing toward the other person. Maybe it would help if you draw a picture of what you are referring to.

Likes Physicsterian
If you hold handles of a bag at an angle then you have a horizontal and a vertical component of the force. Only the vertical component contributes to holding the bag up, the horizontal one does not (the two people "pull on each other" indirectly via these forces). A force balance can show how large each component is. Then you can compare it to the case of one person holding the bag with vertical handles.