Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Electric Current in an open circuit

1. Dec 27, 2013 #1
    I'm still a beginner at Electricity and electromagnetism, I'm wondering If we connect a wire to a positive terminal ONLY , why won't the electrons flow to the positive terminal of the cell as electrons are negatively charged, I have been days thinking about it and I need a clear convincing answer I don't matter if it is in detail but I need an understandable answer for a beginner

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 27, 2013 #2

TumblingDice

Gold Member

Why wouldn't they? (as long as there's nothing wrong with the wire)

4. Dec 27, 2013 #3
    So there would be an instantaneous current in the wire?

5. Dec 28, 2013 #4

Student100

Education Advisor
    Gold Member

In chemical batteries the electrolyte prevents electrons from going up from the anode to the cathode. It would be kind of pointless to have a battery that constantly was reacting without a circuit.

Well hopefully they wouldn't, seeing as how he hasn't completed the circuit.

6. Dec 28, 2013 #5
    But the electrons would move towards the anode the they would stop? I mean some kind of an instantaneous current

7. Dec 28, 2013 #6
    Then they would stop *********

8. Dec 28, 2013 #7

Student100

Education Advisor
    Gold Member

Current flows from the anode to the cathode, a wire connected on the cathode only wouldn't permit the chemical reaction to occur. As I said before, the electrolyte prevents stray elections from going anode -> cathode.

This is an over simplistic view on batteries in general, but I’m not sure how much you actually understand.

So no, no instantaneous or inrush current that I’m aware of, but I have a very superficial understanding of batteries in general.

9. Dec 28, 2013 #8

I'm talking about a wire connected to the anode not to the cathode

10. Dec 28, 2013 #9

Student100