Entropy for Reversible and Irreversible Processes

In summary, the author is confused because some thermodynamic concepts seem to contradict each other. He is also confused about why S(B) - S(A) \geq 0 for two fixed states A and B if the entropy is a function of state. He needs to use the fact that S(B) - S(A) is invariant for ##A## and ##B## fixed to derive the right formulas.
Zag
Hello everyone,

I've been reviewing some concepts on Thermodynamics and, even though I feel like I am gaining a level of comprehension about the subject that I could not have achieved before as an undergraduate, I am also running into some situations in which some thermodynamic concepts seem to contradict each other. Here is one of these situations involving Entropy of reversible and irreversible processes:

From Clausius' Theorem, we know that: [itex]\oint\mathrm{\frac{dQ}{T}} \leq 0[/itex] (the equality holding for reversible processes)

Now, following the text-book that I'm using (K. Huang - Statistical Mechanics), we can consider a transformation between two states [itex]A[/itex] and [itex]B[/itex] as being either reversible [itex](R)[/itex] or irreversible [itex](I)[/itex]:

Untitled.jpg

Now considering a closed path given by [itex]I + (-R)[/itex], we can rewrite Clausis' theorem in the following way:

[itex]\int_{I}\mathrm{\frac{dQ}{T}} + \int_{-R}\mathrm{\frac{dQ}{T}} \leq 0[/itex]

But since for a reversible path the integral yields the variation in the Entropy: [itex]\int_{R}\mathrm{\frac{dQ}{T}} = \Delta S[/itex], we get:

[itex]\int_{I}\mathrm{\frac{dQ}{T}} \leq S(B) - S(A)[/itex]

Now comes the tricky part that has been confusing me. If the system under consideration is isolated, not heat exchange occurs and [itex]\mathrm{dQ} = 0[/itex], from which we conclude that:

[itex]S(B) - S(A) \geq 0[/itex]