Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Expanding universe and the Boltzmann brain problem

1. Jan 15, 2017 #1
    Hello

I have been reading Sean Carroll's book "From eternity to here" where he mentioned the concept of functioning brains emerging from random fluctuations on a quantum level due to the expansion of universe. They have been called Boltzmann brains https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boltzmann_brain

I'm no physics expert but this surely sounds confusing. Do these entities exist and do scientists really believe in the reality of the scenario?

Is it possible that the low entropy beginning of the universe can explain why these or similar big fluctuations would be impossible?

Regards,
    Analyst

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 15, 2017 #2

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

They should be possible. Assuming I am not a Boltzmann brain, the universe is so young that regular brains should be much more common, but in the very distant future Boltzmann brains could dominate. Most of them will have weird inconsistent memories, but some will have a brain like we have. This is incredibly unlikely for a given place and time, but if you have a finite chance for it and infinite time and/or infinite space, it wil happen.

4. Jan 15, 2017 #3
    Carroll mentions something about the beginning of the universe and low entropy conditions which could eventually completely supress the creation of macroscopic fluctuations, is this a possibility? Since we really don't know why was universe in a low entropy state and can structures form in a non-typical way (starting from the big bang and not from random fluctuations). The real question is do we live inside a Boltzmann box, which is a metaphor for a universe where occasionaly there are fluctuations from the second law of thermodynamics.

5. Jan 15, 2017 #4

mfb

2016 Award

I don't have the book.