Highschool student interested in cosmology

In summary, the conversation discussed the topics of cosmology, general relativity, quantum mechanics, and M-theory. The speaker expressed their interest in the origins of the universe and requested clarification on a "simple" aspect of the general theory. The topics of time dilation and mass increase as objects approach the speed of light were explored, as well as the concept of relativity in time. It was also mentioned that in special relativity, the 4-velocity of any object has an invariant magnitude equal to the speed of light. However, it was noted that the idea of "movement" through space-time is not accurate, as time is already accounted for in space-time.
heliocentricprose
I am a high school student interested in cosmology and gr, qm, and mtheory. I find it fascinating to think about the origins of the universe. I need clarification on a 'simple' aspect of the gr theory.

*Time is warped and slowed down (relative to another location) around greater masses
*As objects approach the speed of light, their massess increase, therefore slowing down their 'time'
*If an object is moving at the speed of light, it has a much slower time when compared to something moving at a lesser velocity, in fact, it would appear to the stationary observer that the object moving at lightspeed is not aging at all.

Please correct me if I am wrong.

Physics news on Phys.org
heliocentricprose said:
I am a high school student interested in cosmology and gr, qm, and mtheory. I find it fascinating to think about the origins of the universe. I need clarification on a 'simple' aspect of the gr theory.

*Time is warped and slowed down (relative to another location) around greater masses
*As objects approach the speed of light, their massess increase, therefore slowing down their 'time'