1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How do i plot 2D steady state temp in maple?

1. Nov 9, 2012 #1
    Hi all, I am wondering how I plot the steady state temperature distribution of a square flat sheet in maple. I solved the initial partial differential equation I was given and ended up with a function generalized as

T(x,y) =(constants)*sum(stuff).

Which is a Fourier series representing how the temperature flows through my sheet. Only one side of the square sheet is being heated so I have a general idea of how the graph should look, but I'm a maple newbie and wondering if from this explanation if anyone can be a help and provide a template helping me choose the right plot to pick, the commands and calls and how to set up my initial boundary conditions

T(x,0)= 0
    T(S,y)=0
    T(0,y)=0

T(x,S)=T_0 <==this is the edge being heated

If anyone wants more information please let me know! Many thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 9, 2012 #2

LCKurtz

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

S:=some value; (you can't leave it as a variable to plot it)
    T:=your formula with x and y;
    plot3d(T,x=0..S,y=0..S);

Whether it will plot your infinite series I don't know. You might have to just plot a large number of terms.

Last edited: Nov 9, 2012
  4. Nov 9, 2012 #3
    Thanks for the help I really appreciate it. Do I need the with(plots) command too ?

5. Nov 9, 2012 #4

LCKurtz

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

I don't think so. You can put with(plots); in to be safe, it won't hurt.

6. Nov 9, 2012 #5
    Hi,

This in the picture is what I have so far, any corrections to be noted would be very helpful. I do not know how to get this thing to work !

[PLAIN]http://postimage.org/image/c5att96xx/ [Broken][/PLAIN]