How much energy (in Joules) is stored in a standard 12g CO2 cartridge?

In summary: I'm not an expert on this. However, the change in internal energy from all the mass isothermally expanding from 850psi to atmospheric pressure is 0.473J.
Lupin
TL;DR Summary
A standard 12 gram cartridge contains both liquid and gaseous CO2 at 850psi. Assuming we are venting to atmosphere at sea level how much energy can be extracted from the cartridge?
A standard 12 gram cartridge contains both liquid and gaseous CO2 at 850psi. Assuming we are venting to atmosphere at sea level, how much energy can be extracted from the cartridge?

We know it will expand to 12 grams * 22.4 liters/ 1 mole (44grams) = 6.1 liters. But how much energy did we extract to get there?

Science news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF.

Fun problem. I would do a quick order-of-magnitude calculation with a compressed spring analogy, but you will get much better answers from others here.

BTW, is this question for your schoolwork?

I believe if we treat it as an open system then it's possible to find the extractable energy by realizing what's the change in enthalpy.

I gotta leave now so I can't check if what I recall is right or run the numbers to find what energy is that. Enthalpy for CO2 is tabulated all over the internet so it's just comparing the room temperature conditions at atmospheric pressure with the room temperature conditions at 850PSI.

Maybe someone else will confirm or dismiss what I just posted. I'm definitely not an expert on this.

Juanda said:
I believe if we treat it as an open system then it's possible to find the extractable energy by realizing what's the change in enthalpy.
For an ideal gas, the energy in the gas is independent of its pressure. It is purely a function of its temperature.

As the ideal gas expands and does [reversible] work on its environment, this requires that it lose temperature.